Queen Victoria Powder Magazine
Type of space: Multi-use Space, Performance venue, Warehouse, Non Traditional (e.g. foyer, waiting room, bus shelter, letter-boxes)
The Queen of Victoria Powder Magazine contains a series of chambers designed to store gunpowder for the colony. Built in 1850, its location at the corner of Carriage Drive and Upper Domain Road within the Queens Domain allowed a safe distance from the colony to both safeguard the gunpowder from enemies and thieves and to protect the community from the volatile substance.
The heritage listed sandstone, copper and brick magazine contains three vaulted chambers, one of these isolated from the rest. The elegant dimensions of the chambers along with its rich history help to provide the perfect space for small theatrical events, light, sound and projection installations, photography and book launches.
Beautiful vaulted ceilings and heritage gunpowder racks are disguised within a largely discreet, yet curiuous sandstone complex with imposing steel entrace doors.
This venue is owned by the City of Hobart and currently leased to SAA Military Collectors of Tasmania, a collecting and historic organisation.
Subject to availability SAA takes bookings and arranges access to the venue.
Hire fees are to be negotiated with the contact person.
License to sell alcohol may be required.
Off Carriage Drive and in the Cricket Ground Car Park